Free and Low Cost Tax Return Filing

Note scroll down if you don't want to read my long story and see some different options for free / low cost tax return software.

Yesterday, I started my tax return with H&R Block where I had been using "Best of Both" for several years now.

My tax return has enough quirks in it that I could not get free filing, but I discovered that for $120 I could get "Best of Both" This includes the HR Block Premium product for federal filing, a state filing and a very experienced Enrolled Agent. The H&R Block tax preparer always made some adjustments that Premium didn't allow and was, perhaps more importantly, the person signing off on the preparation.

I much preferred this method because I was able to ensure accuracy while drawing on expertise and having "insurance" against mistakes. It didn't seem to cost much more than doing it alone.

Well this year they decided to make "Best of Both" a standalone product for an extra $80, bring the total cost up to $200. I found some codes which seemed to indicate I'd get 30% to 40% off online products, but they only applied to the $80 federal return so I was still looking at $168.

I remembered that Credit Karma had emailed me about free tax filing. I took a look and yes indeed it was free with no catches. Filled it in and found a few problems. Firstly, although they had a place to enter foreign tax paid, it wasn't being deducted. Secondly, when transferring to the California return, they added back tax free interest and didn't give an option to remove it. Thirdly, they also didn't allow HSA distributions to be entered as an adjustment to income on the California return.

Indeed, they didn't allow any adjustments at all on the California return. However, the foreign tax credit issue on the federal return could be bypassed, so I thought it might just be an idea to find somebody who enabled me to file the state return for a lower cost than the $40 H&R Block want.