4gCommunity

I just ordered a MiFi from 4gcommunity.org. I studied their two offerings and made my choice using the following info:

1. First of all, you get unthrottled, unlimited data over the Sprint network, regardless of which plan you buy. You can buy service in 3 month, 6 month or 12 month increments.
  2. There's no BYOD. You have to buy a device from them.
  3. Their "Premium Service" includes 3g, 4g, LTE, and LTE+. [Note for anyone unfamiliar with LTE+: it's Sprint's name for carrier aggregation. That means that the hotspot can make multiple connections to the tower and can use those multiple connections to deliver greater bandwidth.] The service, not including the MiFi, is $255/year. ($21.25/month)
  4. Their standard service is LTE-only. No 3g, no LTE+. It only makes one connection to the tower. The service, not including the MiFi, is $168/year. ($14/month)
  5. If you order the premium service the first year costs $398, which includes the ZTE Pocket WiFi hotspot.
  6. If you order the standard service the first year costs $250, which includes the Franklin R850 hotspot.

One of my employees bought the Premium Service and he gets approximately 20 to 30 Mbps.

I believe the standard service should deliver around 15 Mbps (around my house, anyway) because I currently have a Netgear Fuse, with FreedomPop, that's LTE-only and it gets a consistent 15 Mbps with -96dB on band 25. Assuming that the device won't be a bottleneck, I believe that the Franklin R850 will perform similarly.

The other thing I like about the Franklin R850 is that it will boot up and run without the battery installed, which is nice if you want to use it as your home internet and leave it plugged in, all the time.

It's possible that the ZTE will do the same but I haven't found an answer, one way or the other.

I decided to buy the standard LTE-only package because:

1. 15Mbps is gracious plenty for everything we care to do.
  2. I'm a cheapskate.