TracPhone questions

I seem to remember seeing some TracPhone experts on this forum. I have some questions -

I'm looking into TracPhone because my usage is low and I get good coverage on Verizon. So have been looking into the TracPhone (Verizon) phone+airtime deals that I see on prepaidphonenews. Have never had TracPhone before so total newbie.

Thanks everyone!
Edit - ah, it's Tracfone - and not like I spelled it! Oh well, you know what I mean.

QVC also has had good deals. You can add a gb for $10. It just doesn't add any time to your 365 days. Before the year is over you need to buy another card. That way your minutes etc. will roll over. Tracfones not bad. you can buy another deal like that on hsn every year

Tracfone does have lots of detractors. I've used them for years, and been very pleased. If your use is intermittent & modest, it's very competitively priced. If you use lots of minutes, or lots of data (averaging a gig a month or more), it's not a good choice.

(Sorry if I repeat some of Mark's info here!)

You can add data cards or text cards cheaply-- as noted, those add-ons don't include service days, but they will continue to roll over as long as you have service days available, and stack on top of what you already have. For example, if you buy one of the promo bundles with a years worth of service, adding a 2GB data card will add an additional 2GB of data to be used over the year of time you already have on the phone.

There isn't any way to add a bucket of minutes without adding a package that includes everything including additional days of service.

Tracfone tips: you need to spend a little time to understand how the system works to keep the cost as low as possible. There are 2 active non-official Tracfone forums with members that are knowledgeable and always willing to lend a hand figuring things out. (Search here for 'Turk' to find a link to one, and the other is a sub-category on Howard Forums-- or here, of course.)